2018 CHEST Award Winners

November 28, 2018 by Vanessa Claude

The American College of Chest Physicians® would like to extend congratulations to its 2018 award winners:

CHEST 2018 Awards

  • College Medalist Award – Ghada Bourjeily, MD, FCCP
  • Distinguished Service Award – David Gutterman, MD, Master FCCP
  • Master FCCP – David Gutterman, MD, Master FCCP
  • Early Career Clinician Educator – Amy E. Morris, MD, FCCP
  • Master Clinician Educator – Lisa K. Moores, MD, FCCP
  • Presidential Citation – Darcy Marciniuk, MD, FCCP
  • Presidential Citation – D. Robert McCaffree, MD, Master FCCP
  • Alfred Soffer Award for Editorial Excellence – Jean Rice

2018 Honor & Memorial Awards Committee Selections

  • Thomas L. Petty, MD, Master FCCP Memorial Lecture – Richard Casaburi, MD, PhD, FCCP
  • Margaret Pfrommer Memorial Lecture in Long-term Mechanical Ventilation – Douglas McKim, MD, FCCP
  • Distinguished Scientist Honor Lecture in Cardiopulmonary Physiology – F. Dennis McCool, MD, FCCP
  • Pasquale Ciaglia Memorial Lecture in Interventional Medicine – Kazuhiro Yasufuku, MD, PhD, FCCP
  • Roger C. Bone Memorial Lecture in Critical Care – Umberto Meduri, MD
  • Edward C. Rosenow III, MD, Master FCCP/Master Teacher Honor Lecture – Peter Barnes, DM, Master FCCP
  • Presidential Honor Lecture – Jay Peters, MD, FCCP

Alfred Soffer Research Award Winners

This award is named in honor of Dr. Alfred Soffer, Master Fellow of the College, Editor in Chief of the journal CHEST® from 1968 to 1993, and Executive Director for CHEST from 1969 to 1992.

  • Clauden Louis, MD
  • Babith J. Mankidy, MBBS, FCCP

Young Investigator Award Winners

The Young Investigator Award is open to CHEST abstract presenters enrolled in a training or a fellowship program or who have completed a fellowship program within 5 years prior to CHEST 2018. Semifinalists were evaluated on the basis of their written abstract and their presentation at CHEST 2018.

  • Fayez Kheir, MD, MScIntrapleural Tissue Plasminogen Activator and Deoxyribonuclease Therapy vs Early Medical Thoracoscopy for Treatment of Pleural Infection: A Randomized Clinical Trial
  • Michael Rosman, MD – The Utility of End Tidal CO2 (ETCO2) Monitoring During In-hospital Cardiac Arrest to Predict Return of Spontaneous Circulation

Top 5 Abstract Poster Winners

The top 5 slide semifinalists were evaluated on their written abstract and quality of their presentation during CHEST 2018.

  • Neha Agarwal, MD
  • Hiroaki Harada, MD
  • Joseph M. Carrington, DO, MHA
  • Yu Kuang Lai, MBBCh

Top Abstract Poster Finalists

  • Ligia M. Puiu, MD, PhD, FCCP
  • Kush R. Dholakia, MD
  • Kulothungan Gunasekaran, MD, MBBS
  • Laura B. Sutton, PharmD
  • Ankur Mogla, MD
  • Ali Ammar, MD
  • Charlene Kalani, PharmD
  • Jonghoo Lee, MD
  • Frank J. Trudo, MD, FCCP
  • Elise L. Stephenson, MD
  • Faisal Siddiqi, MD
  • Eileen Harder, MD
  • Sophie Korzan, MD
  • Andreas Grove, MD
  • Snigdha Nutalapati, MBBS
  • Anubhav Jain, MBBS

Case Report Slide Winners

  • Allergy and Airway – Ze Ying Tan, MBBS
  • Cardiovascular Disease – Andrew Mehlman, MD
  • Fellows Chest Infections 1 – Jason Lam, MD
  • Fellows Chest Infections 2 – Adam Young, DO
  • Fellows Chest Infections 3 – Ritu Modi, MD
  • Complications You Don’t Want to Miss – Argun Can, MD
  • Medical Student/Resident Chest Infections 1 – Scott Maughan, MD
  • Medical Student/Resident Chest Infections 2 – Adam Austin, MD
  • Medical Student/Resident Critical Care 1 Tie –  Donnie Carter, Jr., MD, and Lindsay Hammons, MD
  • Medical Student/Resident Critical Care 2 – Paola Baskin, MD
  • Fellows Critical Care Cases 1 – Morgan Gilani, MD
  • Fellows Critical Care Cases 2 – Katie Jeans, MD
  • Medical Student/Resident Diffuse Lung Disease – David Dennis, MD
  • Fellows Diffuse Lung Disease 1– Anthony Mattox, DO
  • Fellows Diffuse Lung Disease 2 – Andrew Berglund, MD
  • Disorders of the Mediastinum 1 – Cristia Maysol Morales, MD
  • Disorders of the Mediastinum 2 – Anthony McClafferty, MD
  • Infections – Ahmed Munir, MBBS
  • Kid Cases – Benjamin Garren, MD
  • Lung Cancer Cases – Robert Hilton, MD
  • Obstructive Lung Disease – Rakin Choudhury, MD
  • Pathology – Andrew Lytle, MD, PhD 
  • Procedures – Audra Schwalk, MD
  • Fellows Pulmonary Manifestations of Systemic Disease – Jessica Riggs, MD, MBBS
  • Medical Student/Resident Pulmonary Manifestations of Systemic Disease 1 – Chelsea Leipold
  • Medical Student/Resident Pulmonary Manifestations of Systemic Disease 2 – Galyna Ivashchuk, MD
  • Pulmonary Vascular Disease – Meghan Cirulis, MD
  • Surgery Cases – Patrick Chan, MD

Case Report Poster Winners

  • Christine Zhou
  • Parin Shah, DO
  • Avanthika Wynn, MD, MBBS
  • Muhammad S. Ali, MD
  • Brian Foster, DO
  • Kelly Pennington, MD
  • George Elkomos-Botros, MD      
  • Ashley M. Scott, MD
  • Andrew Polito, DO

CHEST Challenge Winners

Emory University

Program Director: David Schulman, MD, MPH, FCCP

  • Matthew Schimmel, MD
  • Mohleen Kang, MD
  • Haider Ali, MD

  • Sign up below to receive an email when new blog posts are available.